top of page

We are moving!

The ELAN lab is moving to City, University of London.

City, University of London

Established in the 19th century to promote “the industrial skill, general knowledge, health and well-being of young men and women belonging to the poorer classes”, Northampton Institute (named after the Marquess of Northampton who donated the land upon which the Institute was built) became a university in 1966 when it was awarded a Royal Charter and renamed The City University. In the 21st century, it merged with several schools and colleges that had been set up by and affiliated with St Bartholomew's Hospital (founded in 1123) and Royal London Hospital (founded as the London Infirmary in 1740) and the Inns of Court (which date from the early 1300s after a papal bull prohibited the clergy from practising in the secular courts in 1218).

Fifty years after being granted its Royal Charter, City joined the University of London, a federal university that was established in 1836 (as a secular alternative to Oxford and Cambridge) and which now comprises some of the world’s leading institutions, including the Institute of Cancer Research, Courtauld Institute of Art, London School of Economics (LSE), University College London (UCL), King’s College London, London Business School, and until recently, Imperial College London. The University of London was the first to admit students regardless of their gender, race, or religion, the first to admit women to degree programmes, and in 1865 the first to give students the opportunity to study wherever they are, providing access to higher education across the globe and prompting Charles Dickens to call it the 'People's University'. City changed its name to 'City, University of London' to reflect this change.

We're looking forward to the move and the next step!


bottom of page